Vintage Knits


This is a duplicate post from my other blog but I wanted to bring it over because it fits in a bit better with the theme of this blog.

If you’ve ever read any of the posts on the other blog then you will know that I am very fortunate to have a great relationship and friendship with my Mother-In-Law Chrisy.  She’s been a massive inspiration to me in terms of my love for all things creative and crafty.

Last year for Christmas I decided to try to make all of my Christmas presents. I fell a little bit short in the end due to time (poor Dad’s jumper still only has half a sleeve) but managed to make almost all of them. In light of this, I extended the invitation to everyone else that they should try to make their presents too or if not then just give a small ‘token gift.’

I could not have imagined that I would get anything as awesome as the gift from Chrisy!

It’s a folder she’s put together of Vintage Knitting patterns, the oldest of which is from 1949. What makes it even more special is that they belonged to her best friend Gill’s mother who passed away recently. What a great lady she must have been, I’ve heard much about her and she kept her patterns in great condition!

I love the pictures and the patterns but am also very taken with the old adverts interpersed throughout.

Here are a few of my favourites…

Anthony Steel’s Favourite Sweater 1950

Robin No. 467

Light Touch, January 31, 1959

Patons Big Ben 1259. Love the expression on the boy’s face and Elvis and Billy Fury in the background of a fairly uninteresting cardi!

January 9 1954

 

Leave a Reply

