Pattern Profile: Kwik Sew


Kwik Sew (originally The Sew Knit & Stretch Company becoming Kwik Sew in 1974) were founded in 1967 by Swedish Kerstin Martensson.  She pioneered a straight forward and fast approach to design for stretch knits.

Kersten Martensson

Kersten Martensson

It’s quite hard to find much info about her online apart from her induction to the American Sewing Guild Hall of Fame in 2006 (took their time eh?) which is a shame as I would like to know more about her.  Kwik Sew is now run by her son, Eric McMaster and became part of The McCall Pattern Company at the close of 2011.

At £8.99 each no matter what design the patterns themselves are reasonably good value for money, they’re well laid out and easy to follow and the quality of the white actual paper pattern paper puts them head and shoulders above the flimsy, awkwardly creased, rest. They also have a larger selection than most for Men and for Kids and for anyone who ever fancied making lingerie Kwik Sew’s yer er…man?

They’re no so trendy though…you can’t beat them for sweatshirts or leotards but they’re not exactly ‘fashion forward.’

I am currently making this pattern for my darling Mr Kapow:

Kwik Sew K3506 Men’s Western Shirt

The new catalogue is out now and here are a few of my favourites from the Fall/Winter 2012 Look Book (I know, I’m not exactly ‘fashion forward’ myself!):

K3964 Play Food – Yus! A hamburger pattern!

K3968 Unizex Adult Fleece Socks – Nice legs 😉

K3956 Misses’ Dress – I do like this actually, the print is great too

Also, don’t tell anyone but I’ve had my eye on this for a while, I reckon I could rockabilly these right up!:

K3897 Overalls – What?!

One thought on “Pattern Profile: Kwik Sew

  1. Kwik Sew ahd been ruined as far as I can see. Used to be worth the money, but since Kerstin Martensson is no longer designing there’s just not enough Stretch and Sew patterns or lingerie ones for that matter. Too bad. I don’t even look at their catalogs at my local fabric outlet.

Leave a Reply

