Iconic Dresses: The Slipper and The Rose, 1976


The Slipper and The Rose was a film my sister and I had “taped off telly” and we watched it over and over again as children.  I think I would have been 8 or 9 the first time I saw it and I was mesmerised.  We grew up on a farm in the Inner Hebrides and existed almost entirely in wellies, jeans and wooly jumpers.  Neither of us were ‘girly girls’ really but to me, this was the epitome of Princess Dresses!

Sure Richard Chamberlain’s not really my idea of Prince Charming with his sharp and boney face but I loved Gemma Craven and I loved the evil sisters and step mother.  Most of all though I loved the dresses!

the slipper and the rose 320x240

The Slipper and the Rose

The Slipper and the Rose

The Slipper and the Rose

The Slipper and the Rose

4 thoughts on “Iconic Dresses: The Slipper and The Rose, 1976

  1. Always loved this movie as a child and always wanted that dress she wore to the ball. I believe this is still stashed somewhere in my parents’ basement on VHS!

Leave a Reply

