How to thread Singer 507


When I first got my sewing machine it took me quite a while to work out how it was threaded and I’ve recently had a couple of enquiries through the blog about this so I thought I’d do a wee step by step…

English: Woman sewing on old treadle machine

English: Woman sewing on old treadle machine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Singer 507 Handbook and Bobbin Box

Singer 507 Handbook and Bobbin Box

My Singer 507

My Singer 507
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

http://images.folksy.com/aXRlbXMvMTIwMzgvMjAxMzAxMjYvMTUyMDk2OTc1NzA-Q-N/main

Pass thread through top thread guide
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (2)

Then bring down on right hand side of tension dial and pass between discs and under
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (3)

Bring up on left hand side of dial and push thin spring up in order to hook thread around. See next pic for what it should look like
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (4)

This is how thread should look
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (5)

Next pass the thread up through the large thread guide
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (6)

Then hook over and into take up lever
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (7)

Bring down from take up lever to thread guide at bottom
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (8)

Bring thread back to slit above needle and then forward to thread through needle from front to back
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

How to thread Singer 507 (9)

How it should look
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

 

18 thoughts on “How to thread Singer 507

  1. Pingback: Sewing Machines:: The Trojan | Sew Kapow!

  2. Thank you so much! An absolute joy of a machine inherited from a lovely lady called Greta. I will be able to machine happily now. Greta lost the handbook along time ago. The sewing bug can now carry on.

  3. Just acquired a 507 without handbook. Wish I could get one. This was so helpful as I am giving this machine to my Thai daughter in law. If you could supply a handbook this would be great. Angie

  4. I need a good writer services.
    Have anybody used this one before? I am not sure about those guys. Can anybody advice any reliable one?
    I am going to order a few academic paper works.

  5. Thank you so much for these great step-by-step pictures! I’m using an old-school Singer Touch and Sew and the manual assumes you pretty much know what to do. This helped me very much.

  6. Thank you so much pictures really helped. Left my 507 by great aunt no one else in my family sews.
    Attempting to make a petticoat. Here’s hoping.

  7. Pingback: Sewing Machines:: The Trojan | Konnie Kapow!

  8. This is a brilliant tutorial with lovely pics. Thankyou
    Could you tell me if this machine has a switch to drop the feed dogs please?
    I recently purchased this at a vintage market and it appears that the feed dogs are down
    Cheers

  9. The feed dogs don’t drop, but the presser foot pressure can be reduced to ‘D’ for darning, so that fabric can be moved in any direction, according to the manual, although not sure if this would work for quilts with wadding.

Leave a Reply

