Sewing Machines:: The Trojan


I love my Singer 507, it’s a good solid machine and I’ve had a lot of use from it since I acquired it in 2011.

Mr Singer is not however the only sewing machine in my life…

Last year my Great Uncle Henry gave me my late Aunt Mairnie’s machine.  This was a very special gift for me because not only had it been Mairnie’s but it had originally belonged to my Great Grandmother Flora.

Vintage Trojan Sewing Machine

Vintage Trojan Sewing Machine
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

Vintage Trojan Sewing Machine

Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

Vintage Trojan Sewing Machine

Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

Vintage Trojan Sewing Machine

Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

Vintage Trojan Sewing Machine

Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

As you can see it’s not in perfect condition but I think it’s beautiful.  It does work, I’ve oiled it and sewn with it however I can’t work out how to get the bobbin/shuttle case open.

The wee shuttle case is proving hard to work out

The wee shuttle case is proving hard to work out
Photo credit: Konnie Kapow

I wonder does anyone know anything about these machines?  I’d love to know how old it is and more about how it works…

The machine doesn’t have a name on it but Henry thought it was a German model called “Trojan” and I found one on ebay in far better condition which confirmed that.  It also suggested it was circa 1920s.

Image courtesy of sewing4everyone / Ashley Bradbury on Ebay

Photo credit: sewing4everyone / Ashley Bradbury on Ebay

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sewing Machines:: The Trojan

  1. I’m going to sound old saying this but my mum had one of those when I was little. It was a Singer though and my first experience of using a sewing machine. It was si nice and simple to use compared to all the modern machines. Thanks for bringing back memories.

  2. I have just unearthed my Trojan machine (exactly the same as yours) from the loft, complete with instruction book! Hope you have solved your problem in the last 2 years though, without my explanations!

Leave a Reply

